Hello from your new 4-H Agent!

Hello everyone!!  Now that I am back in the office after an exciting week at 4-H Congress, I want to take a moment to introduce myself to all of our 4-H members, friends, and families.

I am Holly Jordan and I am excited to be here in Buncombe County and to be working with the 4-H program here.  Although I consider myself to be a native of Florida, I was actually born in Oberlin, Ohio and moved to Ft. Myers, Florida where I grew up when I was 2 years old.  My mom was a 4-H member in Ohio, so naturally she got me into the program in Lee County when I was 8 years old.  I started out participating in the clothing, foods, and citizenship projects and ventured into the rabbits, swine, and beef projects as I got older.  I was a 4-H member for 10 years and had many memorable experiences at summer camp, 4-H Congress, 4-H Legislature, National 4-H Congress, and with our county and district activities.

After graduating from high school, I attended the University of Florida.  Because I had been to the campus for many state 4-H events, it was natural for me to attend this particular university.  I had gotten familiar with the campus and had met many of the faculty and professors there through the 4-H program.  I majored in Animal Science and then served as an intern with the Hillsborough County 4-H program (Tampa) in the semester prior to my graduation.  After graduation, the 4-H Agent position became vacant so I applied for and then became the 4-H Agent for the county in November 2001.

I served as the 4-H Agent in Hillsborough County for 8 ½ years (can’t forget the ½).  I worked primarily with the traditional 4-H club program which had about 40 clubs across the county.  The majority of the clubs that I worked with were focused on projects related to livestock, horse, horticulture, shooting sports, dog, and community type projects.  I also worked with a 4-H club at MacDill Air Force Base and with various urban and school enrichment programs.

I have been married to my husband, Jimmy, for 9 years and we have 2 children.  Our daughter Paige will be 7 in August and our son Cole is 4 years old.  We also have a 2 year old chocolate Lab named Bo who is quite energetic.  My family is the focus of my life and I have always stressed to the 4-H families that I worked with before that 4-H is a family activity and should bring your family together, whether you are working on a community service project together or practicing for a competition.  Hopefully we all share that same philosophy.

Again, I’m super excited to be here in Buncombe County and can’t wait to get to know the 4-H families and clubs here.  If you ever need anything or have questions about any of the events, please don’t hesitate to contact me.  Although I’m still getting familiar with the North Carolina program, I’m sure I can hunt down an answer or information for you.

I also want to thank Steve Duckett and Erin Bonito for all that they have done to keep the 4-H Program running during the vacancy.  My transition coming here has been smooth and they have been absolutely wonderful in educating me about the program so far.

Yours in 4-H,

Holly

Leave a Reply

